Clements Center
Clements Center

Now accepting applications for 2019-20 Clements Pre and Postdoctoral Fellows

Oct 30, 2018

The Clements Center for National Security at the University of Texas at Austin seeks applications from current PhD candidates for its Predoctoral Fellowship Program and recent PhD recipients for its Postdoctoral Fellowship Program.

The Clements Center offers Predoctoral Fellowships to advanced PhD students and Postdoctoral Fellowships to recent PhD recipients to live and work in Austin, Texas. Fellows will spend the substantial portion of their time working on their own research and writing projects, while taking advantage of the many academic resources available here at the University of Texas-Austin. Both fellowship programs offer a competitive stipend, full use of UT-Austin facilities, and office space at the Clements Center. 

Applicants should submit a current c.v., a personal statement, graduate school transcripts, a brief (no more than two-page, single-spaced) research statement, and three letters of recommendation. Applications are due Monday, February 4, 2019Please direct any questions to Clements Center Programs Manager Alex Foggett at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 


Predoctoral and Postdoctoral Fellows Placement 

Fellows have gone on from the Clements Center to tenure-track, postdoctoral, and other academic and policy positions at

University of Toronto (Department of History)
Stanford University (Center for International Security and Cooperation)
Princeton University (James Madison Program in American Ideals and Institutions)
Australian National University (Strategic and Defence Studies Centre)
Harvard University (International Security Program)
University of Central Florida (Department of History)
University at Albany-SUNY (Department of History)
Santa Clara University (Department of Classics)
Yale University (Brady-Johnson Program in Grand Strategy)
The Kings College (Department of History)
Catholic University of America (Department of Politics)
Arizona State University (School of Civic and Economic Thought Leadership)
Simmons College
Texas State University (Department of Political Science)
Williams College (Department of Political Science)
US Senate
US Department of State